Friday, May 14, 2010

Some funny stories, London style...

So I am WAY behind here...haven't posted since the Brazil posts, but we have had so many fun nights out since I figured I would give a quick rundown of them - because seriously, London has more to do than you could ever imagine. I would think only an extremely boring person could ever actually get bored here - with parties that last all night and the entire next day, amazing hidden pubs with great scenery and even better beer, great markets to feed a hangover, and a great mix of people that I have never seen in any city I've ever lived or even visited.

I actually have had the chance to spend a lot of my weekends since Brazil on my own (well, at least minus the bf due to his busy schedule and his getting certified to sail) which is always the best test to see if you actually like a place. And I have come to the conclusion that I couldn't even imagine having to move back to a 'small' city anytime soon, I always had fun in Denver, but there is just nothing to do compared to London! I'm sure there are other cities that offer much of the same, but I can honestly say that over the last few weeks I have been falling in love with London more and more...

Things I've done in the last few weeks that probably don't happen in most places: (okay, some would, but the ones that could would take a very special combination of people...ie: me and the bf types)

-I've learned how aggressive the drunken British are - I was actually just walking home from the gym one Friday afternoon and a guy was hitting on me, I told him I was heading home to my bf and he was like, okay, then when we went to say good bye he leaned in, I just thought he was going to do the double cheek kiss...but he actually kissed my neck! Lol! God, it was so funny, and a little disturbing! But really, who can get angry at such a colorful culture, I mean, where else in the world do people have a pint at 11 am on a Monday?! This is just one reason London is so great!

-The next night while the bf was studying, I took my Brazilian tanned legs out with some girls for some dancing at a nearby bar/pub...well, of course, me being me, had on skyscraper heels and a teeny-tiny skirt...girls around here typically wear black tights with everything and flats, or skinny jeans and converse sneakers...so I won't lie, I stood out like a sore thumb! Anyway, my friendly self managed to get groped by an adorable Brazilian (I know, my Brazilian tan must have put out the Brazilian vibe), a crazy (not kidding here) Portuguese man stuck his hand up my skirt, and I had an Italian, and two different Irish men ask for my number...ah, being a foreigner, so much fun :) Funny thing is, I was happy when I finally crawled into bed with my cute sleeping boyfriend at 5am...who knew I would enjoy monogamy :)

-The following weekend, while the bf was gone sailing for the weekend, I went to an authentic Italian dinner with 8 authentic Italians...after some great food, some whiskey and cokes, a lot of wine, and some weed later we decided to hit up Fabric - very cool, absolutely HUGE nightclub here in London. I managed to dance the night away, when we finally decided to head home, we walked out the door to daylight...yes, on further investigation it was already 8 in the morning and the club was still packed!

-Monday night I was so happy when my bf came home, as much fun as time apart is, we have so much fun getting into trouble together that it is always fun to see him. We hit the town despite the fact that it was a work night (well, ya know, for him, not me :)) Managed to drink at some great new pubs we found, on in particular, 'George and the Dragon' was super cool! I will ignore the fact that my bf got hit on by 3 attractive gay men, and I was hit on by no one for the time being...can't win them all I guess :) But after a few lemon tops and vodka shots on top of all the previous pints, we were feeling a little crazy...so we made a quick trip by the local church courtyard for some unholy activities :) - Hey, he had been gone for a 3 day weekend, no judging! Lol! A nice walk down Brick Lane to get home and you have yourself the perfect Monday night...

-Last Friday night was another adventure, as usual. It started out as a harmless Friday night out for a few drinks...which turned into a lot more drinks, then meeting up with some great new friends to do some dancing and clubbing with. Well, as the club was closing down around 3, we were trying to decide if we should head home or hit up another place that was still open, when, while standing in the coat check line we met this very cute Sweedish girl. We were talking to her and she wanted to meet this guy, so my bf went up to the guy and was trying to talk him into coming out for another drink with all of us while I entertained her. Well, turns out she was nice to us because we (as always are way to happy and laugh all the time) but anyway, she assumed we were on meth! Seriously??? Anyway, turns out she is nuts...completely. Well, by this time she has attached herself to us, she keeps stroking my hair, and bitching and everyone is kind of like, don't piss her off! We decided we really just wanted to run off, but she was glued to us. She managed to pick up some crack head on the way to the bar luckily, and once we got them in line we slowly moved to the back, then my boyfriend took off sprinting! Haha! OMG! I didn't know if I should run or laugh, it was just way too funny, so in utter fear I would be trapped alone with the crazy meth addict Sweede, and the crack head, I took off running as well! We looked completely crazy, but after a few blocks we determined we had shaken her, hopefully forever :) Good news was, because of this detour, we were still up for the bagel shops to open (4 or 5ish?) So we got our fresh out of the oven bagel with lox for the walk home, yet another plus for London...Now, I must admit, my Saturday morning yoga class was hell the next day, inversions and a hangover don't mix...but nothing a prime rib sandwich from Borough Market can't fix :)

-Saturday night we went to a birthday party at this very cool, members only (the girl who's birthday it was is a member - obviously I'm not a member of anything but the unemployed :)) club. It is called Hospital Club, very artistic, and very trendy. The night was slightly more mellow than the previous, had a few 'British Summers' - if you have never had one try it, amazing, gin, cucumber, and some other delicious add ins...

Okay, I'll leave it at that for now - should fill you in on all the exciting news for now! I'll blog about the more boring (and important things) like finding a job later! xoxo

No comments:

Post a Comment